The Frightnrs Announce New Album “Always” (Stream Title Track)


In 2016 Queens reggae/rocksteady band The Frightnrs released their new album Nothing else to saywhich was recorded before singer Dan Klein tragically died at age 33 of ALS. A dubbed version of the album followed the following year, and now they’ve announced a brand new album, Still, which was made with vocal stems that Dan had recorded before his passing. The announcement reads as follows:

Prior to Dan Klein’s unfortunate passing, The Frightnrs agreed to keep a promise he asked of them – to continue making music together. Some of that promise has been made manifest here… Daptone Records is proud to present ALWAYS – the raw and soulful new long-player from The Frightnrs.

The road to Always began with a period of intense songwriting when The Frightnrs and producer Victor Axelrod (Ticklah) were working on the band’s first masterpiece, Nothing More to Say. In addition to the scorchers heard there, Axelrod and The Frightnrs agreed that many of the recordings were too soft to be altered to fit the rocksteady mould. Some were created at their headquarters in Queens with Dan on the mic, some were elaborations on older ideas, some were brand new creations made at the finish line.

Thanks to the vocal stems they had captured during that golden period, Dan Klein’s otherworldly voice survived, giving The Frightnrs all the raw material they needed for an entire album of new and original music. . So with that, The Frightnrs and Axelrod went back to the studio and painstakingly conceptualized, tracked, re-tracked and mixed them into a complete album with their beloved friend singing lead vocals. The fruits of this arduous process laid bare the undying love and respect between brother musicians.

The final song written for this album, “Why Does it Feel Like a Curse”, married two song concepts with one of Dan’s original vocal performances – creating a beautiful, flawless composition that doesn’t just serve as highlight of their editing and songwriting skills. prowess, but also as a sort of metaphor for The Frightnrs’ journey. The perfect ending FOREVER.

The album arrives May 27 via Daptone (Pre-order), and the band’s crackling, vintage sound is perfect on the just-released title track, which opens the album. Listen below.

Track list
1. Always
2. 30-56
3. 30-56 (Version)
4. Tuesday
5. Maybe the Island
6. You, again
7. Profilin
8. Profiline (version)
9. Expectations
10. Why does it look like a curse?


About Author

Comments are closed.